Love in the Time of Pinterest

3 Apr

Since I only have five and a half months to plan a wedding, I’ve started with the odd little bit of getting the wedding ducks in a row.

Oh, who am I kidding.

Two weeks and 3 days in and we have:

  • A date
  • Resized the ring
  • Cake and dessert sorted [baker, idea, it’s all done]
  • Flowers discussed, sourced, and a rough quote gotten
  • Photographer 90% booked
  • Dates for engagement parties in Jo’burg and Durban
  • Place, time, and concept for Durban engagement party
  • Stationery designer
  • Jo’burg engagement party invite
  • Hair and make-up artist booked [and a very good idea of what I want for both]
  • Bridesmaids, groomsmen, MC, and best man
  • First dress consultation done, two possible designs drawn up, and deposit paid
  • Two options for jewelry in place
  • Bridesmaids’ [amazing, personlised] gifts done and mailed to them [they don’t know who they are yet]
  • Guest lists for wedding [plus reserve list], Jo’burg engagement party, Cape Town engagement party, Durban engagement party
  • Date, photographer, and concept for engagement shoot

And probably a few other things I’m forgetting. I like planning, and I’m very good at it.

But when it comes to the finer details, I find myself wondering how I would get by without…

Pinterest!

It’s a virtual pinboard, and the best way to start “pinning” ideas, concepts, and inspiration, and create a mood.

I can pin everything! From flower ideas

To photoshoot concepts and shots I would love to recreate on the day

And dress ideas

My own pictures

Other people’s pictures

And ideas to send to stationery designer/flower arranger/cake baker…

The list is endless. And I am so grateful for this site.

You can follow me here and have a look at some of my wedding-related pins here.

Pinterest. The most beautiful destruction of productivity at work.

Leave a Reply

