Cook This: Salt and Pepper Baby Squid

2 Jul

We love to cook. And I mean actually cook- we hardly ever do ready-made, microwave meals. SC and I also meet for lunch every day. We go to his place and either make sarmies or a salad, and we chill out for a few minutes. This part of my day is so important as it gives me a chance to step out of the office, unwind, and get my energy back, and I get to spend time with my fiance. Eating at home is also much healthier, and it costs less.

Believe it or not, SC does a lot [if not most] of the cooking. Every night we’re in the kitchen together, cooking up something healthy [mostly] and delicious [always].

Since he is so often the one that does all the cooking, I decided this weekend I would take over the kitchen and cook for him. He was not allowed to come into the kitchen. Just sit on the couch, keep me company, and chill out with some wine.

I found two recipes I was dying to try, and this is the first.

After a busy morning of brunch with The Gays, then Vida coffee with The Gays, Neighbourgoods Market for coffee with my cousin, and a lot of running around and cursing Cape Town drivers, I was quite excited to curl up with wine, a blanket, good food, and Amelie [the film, not a lesbian lover]. For this, I made Sam Linsell‘s salt and pepper baby squid.

This recipe is ridiculously easy. Trust me when I say it’s impossible to get this wrong.

I got some baby squids from Ocean Jewels. Julie is a SASSI participant so she only sells fish what is not on the SASSI red list [read more here], and has been fished responsibly/sustainably in the False Bay area. There are so many reasons to support her by only buying fish from her. I tweeted her to ask for some baby squids and she brought them to Neighbourgoods Market where I picked them up. Easy as comforting fish pie.

All you need to do is put your baby squids in a plastic packet with some flour, salt, pepper, and spices like paprika or chilly [if you want], shake it all around, and then fry them in oil. Literally. That’s it! And they are super duper delicious and crunchy.

Sam also has a home-made mayonaise recipe on her site. For the squid, add some lemon juice, chillies, lime, and coriander to the aioli.

I still cannot believe how easy this recipe was. And, of course, delicious. An easy, yummy addition for future platters of bread and cheese and cold meat and such, methinks!

I’m no foodie, or food stylist. So for the full post, with mouth-watering pictures, go to Drizzle and Dip.

3 Responses to “Cook This: Salt and Pepper Baby Squid”

  1. Sam July 2, 2012 at 9:38 am #

    Wow! your squids look super delicious and thanks for trying my recipe and then posting about it x

  2. Julie Carter July 4, 2012 at 9:09 am #

    Looks super yummy, so simple and so delicious. Thanks also for the mention, I really appreciate it

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Cook This: South African Spaghetti and Meatballs « sixtywinters - July 5, 2012

    […] is another that was simply too good not to share. I made this over the weekend for dinner after the salt and pepper baby squid for lunch. And this one is also from Sam […]

Leave a Reply

