Hello, City Living!

7 Sep

On Saturday, I officially moved into our new place, and yesterday the registration went through officially and it now belongs to us. Hoorah! [Also got slapped with R800 bill for fridge fixing. Am officially a big person.]

The move was an easy two trips and although packing is also kind of tiring we’re about 97% unpacked and so far everything has been quite hassle-free. Obviously we will start to do handyman stuff and decorating and such after the honeymoon when SC moves in, but for now I am loving our new place beyond words!

It’s right in the city centre and super vibey without being annoyingly noisy. Our window looks onto beautiful old building and down onto St George’s Mall, a wide pedestrian-only street with shops, galleries, and restaurants. On Thursdays there’s the St George’s market, and we plan to meet there for lunch every week and buy fruit, vegetables, flowers, and whatever else is delicious or beautiful.

The best part is I get to WALK to work. I have wanted this for all my life and it makes me so so happy. I walk through Company’s Gardens so it’s all trees, runners, other walkers, and squirrels. And then I round the corner to walk by the national gallery and I get hit with beautiful Table Mountain in my face.

Here are some pics of the place, taken minutes after arriving. It came fully furnished so this is what it looks like before we get going on really making it our own.


Le kitchen. Also le frigo which was le broken.

View from the windows [to the right]. By estate agent standards this counts as “mountain views”.

Main bathroom. It has a light for the room, and then a special light just for the shower, which thrills me.

View from bedroom window [straight ahead].

St George’s Cathedral is right across the road and we can hear the church bells! Also v convenient for early morning prayer which I attend often during periods like Lent.

Le lounge.

State of fridge on Saturday. Later added sushi and beer.

Am officially so blessed and fortunate that I am just about jealous of myself.

Leave a Reply

