Ich Liebe Deutsch!

29 Nov

I am currently on a mission to improve my languages. English and Afrikaans are fluent in reading, writing, and speaking, but my German, French, and Mandarin could use some attention. I decided to start with German as it is easier for me [as English and Afrikaans are both Germanic] even though my French is better than my German, then onto French, and then, when I’m feeling strong, Mandarin.

Last week I was shown a great app called Learn Like Kids. We;ve all noted that kids can get to grips with a language in a matter of months, whereas adults take years to do the same thing. Most people think this is due to the different developmental stages. But these app developers have stepped forward and said that the key difference is the teaching method. Children are taught in a different way to adults [obviously], but the method used for kids is more effective.

The app has 30 lessons, each with ten components consisting of six words or sentences. Each lesson is pretty quick and I do them when I have a few minutes to kill, generally when I’m walking to work or waiting for SC to finish getting ready [yup, I get ready faster than he does!]. Each word or sentence is accompanied by a voice note [they’re read in a female voice and then also a male voice], and an image.

Anyway, it’s been a great tool to help me improve my Deutsch, but I have to laugh at some of the stock images they choose. I had to share just a few:

 

Sexy.

Why is the musician wearing no shirt, but a scarf?

What did your mum say? If you have nothing nice to say…

Well, this is a kinky kind of office romance.

This poodle looks like he’s protecting himself from a punch to the hoohah!

Oh, ve do love ze Germans!

One Response to “Ich Liebe Deutsch!”

  1. Myron January 11, 2013 at 6:27 am #

    I would like to thank you for the efforts you have put in writing this site.
    I really hope to see the same high-grade blog posts from you in the future as well.
    In truth, your creative writing abilities has motivated me
    to get my very own website now šŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

