New personal project, #1: tourist in my own city

12 Sep

We just got back from the greatest place on earth (Paris, obviously) and Rome, and I have major post-Paris blues. Symptoms and cute involve lying on couches wearing couture while eating foie gras by the spoonful, crying.

But while I will call it “horrible, stinky Cape Town” for the next week or so, I do love this city, and I know we are incredibly blessed to live here. We are, at the very worst, a short drive away from mountains, the beach, wine lands, amazing restaurants, live music, art, and basically anything else you could wish for (besides for Paris). And being back home has got me thinking: imagine of we experienced our homes as fully as we did the places we want on holiday? Obviously doing something every second of every day isn’t sustainable, but I’m sure we could all meet ourselves halfway between holiday mode and everyday living?

So I’m on a mission to be a tourist in my own city. I want to go to exhibitions, the aquarium, try new restaurants and wine farms, see plays and operas, go to the ballet, discover new local bands, and anything else that will enable me to say that I am experiencing Cape Town as fully as I can.

Today I joined the South African national gallery as a member for the remainder of this year until the end of 2014. I got a family card as SC will obviously be dragged along with me on my tourist missions. It’s inexpensive, and I’m thinking of doing the same for the aquarium, as well as the national museum.

I think it’s a shame that we tend to be so much less into where we live, than the places we visit as tourists. And I think if more locals supported they would not only discover amazing things about their area, they would also be supporting worthy industries such as tourism and the arts, and of course ultimately contributing towards job creation.

So if you’re reading this, I have two challenges for you:

1. Do the same. Start with something small, like seeing a show at your local theater, or going to the museum near you. Let me know what you take on and how it goes, I would love to hear about your experiences!

2. If there’s anything in the western cape that you know of that might be a great way for me to be a tourist in my own city, invite me! Whether it’s an exhibition, a new market, a new band, a bar or restaurant I need to try, tell me to go there, what to do or order or look out for, the quirks and facts only regulars know, the history tourists would want to find out- anything!

Who’s joining me on being a tourist in my own city?

20130912-152220.jpg

5 Responses to “New personal project, #1: tourist in my own city”

  1. Kirsty September 12, 2013 at 2:24 pm #

    Brilliant plan, I love it.

    Creative Cape Town week starts on Friday, events and activities happening all around the city everyday. I’m very keen to go to a few exhibitions and whatnot, let me know if you’re keen to join xoxo

    • sixtywinters September 12, 2013 at 2:28 pm #

      Very keen to join! I’m in Jo’burg tomorrow night till Sunday night, but honestly keen to squeeze as much of it as possible. Email me?

  2. phillygirl (@philly_girl) October 8, 2013 at 7:58 am #

    I love this idea and since I moved from Cape Town to Joburg, I have also tried to be a tourist in my own city! We definitely take things for granted when we have such seemingly easy access to them that we usually end up never doing them!

    I added a category on my blog for it too: http://www.gladtobeagirl.co.za/search/label/Local%20Tourist%20Ideas and have included the “touristy” type things I’ve done in Cape Town as well, if you’re interested, since I am often back home, visiting family.

    I look forward to reading more about your touristing and will hopefully get some inspiration for when I’m next there 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Paarl Rock day trip and the Muscadel discovery | Rambling Litchi - September 24, 2013

    […] wanted to let you know about the fun day trip we had on Sunday. There’s been renewed focus on ‘exploring your hometown’ by many of my favourite bloggers lately, and we’ve just joined the […]

  2. Bussing around Cape Town | Rambling Litchi - November 2, 2013

    […] yes. Explore your city – treat it as a tourist would. If you live in CT, you don’t even need a car to do […]

Leave a Reply

